top of page
slenderman.png

La Rumeur

The festival of urban legends

LA RUMEUR is a fictional festival about urban legends. Held once a year in the French town of Fontenay-aux-Roses, it is aimed at a curious but not expert audience. Our festival is both educational and entertaining, with a wide range of exhibitions, lectures and workshops. As a comic strip author and graphic designer, I wanted to explore this concept in detail, mixing illustration, publishing and programming to create a visual universe that subverts the traditional codes of information.

Year
2021

Mission
Branding

Layout

Context

Personal

project

Tools
Photoshop

Illustrator

InDesign

Deliverables

EVENT CONTENT

Find a name | Define all the events and programming | Writing all the readable content.

A GRAPHIC UNIVERSE

10 promotional posters | An informative newspaper with an article and a programme
| A random generator of urban captions.

Creative Process

01. THE NEWSPAPER CONCEPT

A large part of my visual communication will revolve around the parody of the newspaper. This medium is seen as a strong symbol of vertical transmission, representing a reliable source of information, the holder of absolute truth. So what better way than to hijack it?

02. COLOURS AND TYPOGRAPHY

The IBM Plex typographic family is the star of our festival. The diversity of its styles and weights gives us a great deal of creative freedom, while ensuring the coherence and aesthetic appeal of our event. 

For the colours, I then opted for a range in shades of grey: this echoes newspaper printing, while creating an eerie atmosphere.

BLACK

GREY

WHITE

Mamie
03. ILLUSTRATIONS

After a lot of research, I decided to combine textured vector illustrations with a cartoonish graphic style. The theme of our festival is urban legends, so what could be better than to combine it with the world of comics?

slenderman.png

Deliverables

01. POSTERS

We're using these ten posters to promote the LA RUMEUR festival.

The white posters are a caricature of a racy newspaper, with hard-hitting headlines and sensational news!

They are cartoon versions of well-known urban legends and serve as general publicity for our festival.

As for the black posters, they inform us of the various events to come. These could be conferences, exhibitions or screenings of documentary films.

RefonteAffiches3.png

Promotional posters

Above: Large numbers of vipers have apparently returned to a quiet French town, terrorising its inhabitants.

RefonteAffiches5.png

Event posters

Above: This talk, presented by Yassine El Halmoui, explores the importance of science in the imagination of urban legends. 

mockupaffiches4.png
02. THE NEWSPAPER

Comprising around twenty pages, this journal contains a programme, a map and a long informative article on Internet legends. I take inspiration from traditional layouts and transform them into invasive layouts. Like those captions that penetrate your intimacy from your computer, the illustrations in our newspaper step out of the frame to impose themselves on the eye. In an open A2 format, the magazine is printed on Newspaper print 80g/m2. 

Journal-PhotoPrincipale3.png
Le journal de fontenay 2206 version png copie4.png
Le journal de fontenay 2206 version png copie9.png
Le journal de fontenay 2206 version png copie12.png
03. THE RANDOM GENERATOR

Urban legends are based on the sociological phenomenon of rumour, playing on people's fears in accordance with the times and culture in which they live. To caricature, there are several stages in the telling of an urban legend.

My random generator will mix these two elements to create random and absurd urban legends. Using a mixed technology (CSS3/HTML5 and PHP), this web page offers a fun and interactive analysis of the excesses of disinformation.

 

Below, the random generator in action:

Mamie_edited.png

Result

The Rumeurs festival explores the subject of information, and the sociological processes that bring legends to life. By being aware of the mechanisms that develop these stories, we acquire a new tool for analysing our environment.

I'm passionate about these themes and creating a festival around them would be an excellent initiative, and I'd be delighted to develop the visual communication for it.

bottom of page

top of page
slenderman.png

La Rumeur

Le festival des légendes urbaines

LA RUMEUR est un festival fictif traitant des légendes urbaines. Se déroulant une fois par an dans la ville française de Fontenay-aux-Roses, il est destiné à un public curieux sans devoir être expert. De par sa visée pédagogique et divertissante, notre festival propose de nombreuses expositions, conférences et ateliers. En tant qu’auteure de bande-dessinée et graphiste, j’ai voulu explorer en détail ce concept, mélangeant illustration, édition et programmation afin de créer un univers visuel détournant les codes traditionnels de l'information.

Période
2021

Mission
Branding

Layout

Illustration

Contexte
Projet 

personnel

Outils
Photoshop

Illustrator

InDesign

HTML5 CSS3

PHP

Délivrables

UN CONTENU ÉVÈNEMENTIEL

Trouver un nom | Définir tous les évènements et la programmation | Rédiger tous les contenus lisibles.

 

UN UNIVERS GRAPHIQUE

10 affiches promotionnelles | Un journal informatif avec un article et une programmation

| Un générateur aléatoire de légendes urbaines.

Démarche créative

01. LE CONCEPT DU JOURNAL

Une grande partie de ma communication visuelle va s’articuler autour de la parodie du journal. Ce support étant considéré comme un fort symbole de la transmission verticale, il représente cette source d’information fiable, détentrice de vérité absolue.
Alors, quoi de mieux que de le détourner ?

02. COULEURS ET TYPOGRAPHIES

La famille typographique IBM Plex est la star de notre festival. En effet, la diversité de ses styles et graisses nous offre une grande liberté créative, tout en assurant cohérence et esthétisme à notre évènement. 

Pour les couleurs, j'opte ensuite pour une gamme en nuances de gris : cela fait écho à l'impression de journaux, tout en créant une atmosphère inquiétante.

NOIR

GRIS

BLANC

Mamie
03. LES ILLUSTRATIONS

Après de nombreuses recherches, je décide de mêler des illustrations vectorielles texturées à un style graphique caricatural. Le thème de notre festival étant les légendes urbaines, quoi de mieux que de lui associer un univers de bande-dessinée ?

slenderman.png

Les délivrables

01. AFFICHES

Ces dix affiches nous permettent de promouvoir le festival LA RUMEUR.

Les affiches blanches sont une caricature de journal racoleur, avec des titres chocs et des infos sensationnelles !

Elle reprennent en bande-dessinée des légendes urbaines connues et servent de publicité générale à notre festival.

Les affiches noires quant à elles, nous informent des différents évènements à venir. Ces évènements peuvent être des conférences, des expositions ou des diffusions de films documentaires.

RefonteAffiches3.png

Affiches de promotion

Ci-dessus : Des vipères seraient rentrées en grande quantité dans une ville tranquille de France, terrorisant ses habitants.

RefonteAffiches5.png

Affiches d'évènements

Ci-dessus : Cette conférence, présentée par Yassine El Halmoui, explore l'importance de la science dans l'imaginaire des légendes urbaines. 

mockupaffiches4.png
02. LE JOURNAL

Regroupant une vingtaine de pages, ce journal contient une programmation, une carte et un long article informatif sur les légendes d’Internet. Je m'inspire de mises en pages traditionnelles et les transforme en dispositions envahissantes. Comme ces légendes qui pénètrent votre intimité depuis votre ordinateur, les illustrations de notre journal sortent du cadre pour s'imposer aux yeux.

Dans un format A2 ouvert, le journal est imprimé sur le papier Newspaper print 80g/m2. 

Journal-PhotoPrincipale3.png
Le journal de fontenay 2206 version png copie4.png
Le journal de fontenay 2206 version png copie9.png
Le journal de fontenay 2206 version png copie12.png
03. LE GÉNÉRATEUR ALÉATOIRE

Les légendes urbaines se basent sur le phénomène sociologique de la rumeur, jouant sur les peurs des humains en accord avec l’époque et la culture dans laquelle ils évoluent. En caricaturant, on peut définir plusieurs étapes de la narration d’une légende urbaine.

Mon générateur aléatoire va mélanger ces deux éléments afin de créer des légendes urbaines aléatoires et absurdes. Usant d'une technologie mixte (CSS3/HTML5 et PHP), cette page web offre une analyse ludique et interactive sur les dérives de la désinformation.

 

Ci-dessous, le générateur aléatoire en action :

Mamie_edited.png

Résultat

Le festival LA RUMEUR explore en réalité le sujet de l'information, et des procédés sociologiques qui font vivre les légendes. En ayant conscience des mécanismes qui développent ces récits, on acquiert un nouvel outil d'analyse de notre environnement.

Passionée de ces thématiques, créer un festival autour de ce sujet serait une excellente initiative dont je développerais avec plaisir la communication visuelle.

bottom of page